Rings or pre-bounded planner?

So, I recently bought my Plum Paper Planner and also an original Blue Navy Filofax binder. I have been working on both, mainly on my Plum Paper Planner because this is my main planner, using my original filofax only for work matters and professional things. Because I have been going back and forth between one and the other I started asking myself whether I preferred a binder with rings or a pre-set planner with a coil. I still don’t have an answer to that, or maybe a somewhat precise answer but my intention today is to give you an overview of how it is to work with both binders and help you decide whether one or the other would be suitable for your lifestyle.

The coiled binder is precisely that, a notebook-like planner that is attached and held together with a coil. You can’t change it once it is coiled, unless you decide to remove the coil and add things to it, and you can’t remove or add pages to it, unless you decide to tear pages up. The planner comes as is from the manufacturer, you can’t really adapt it to your needs or change the way it comes as, unless it is a customized planner like the one I have that is made by Plum Paper Planner.

I also have a few binders, three filofax, one Franklin Covey and one crush planner. The one I am using right now is my original blue navy filofax, I absolutely love it because of the color and the simplicity. I am using it for work after using a moleskin for so many years and because I told myself I didn’t need a ring binder for work. Now, with work changing so often and with having to plan so many things ahead of time I felt the need to change my moleskine and use my original filofax. This has been a great decision! I can add pages to my planner, use the one week on two pages format, add different sections and also I got to remove some sections that the binder came with. I find it that it is helping me be more effective at what I do and forget less things. I can also plan ahead and I can plan for the emergent tasks. Then I have a “to do section” and a “lists section” with a contacts sections in the back. I LOVE IT! a binder has allowed me to even think different about my work, be more creative and also have a place where I can store a master list but also I can change it and work on things as the week progresses. I was also able to add a “year at a glance” section which I didn’t have before, or I did but it for some reason I didn’t feel like using.

A binder allows you to change and adapt your planner as the week or month progresses, whilst a coiled planner only allows you to use your time and plan your life in a set format. This, I think, is somewhat limiting and doesn’t really allow you to be very creative.

Soon I will receive another orginal filofax but in A5, this was a gift from husband and I plan on using it for my Plum Paper Planner. Yes, I will be removing the coil and putting my planner in a binder! I am excited about it mainly because of the possibility of changing and adapting a planner that I so much love but that sometimes is limiting and doesn’t really let me add or remove things to it.

Are you a coild or a binder person?

Em Jorden

3 thoughts on “Rings or pre-bounded planner?”

  1. Oh yes, me too! I recently started doing it because I realized that the spiral makes me feel somewhat limited after using a binder with rings. I really want to enjoy having spiral bound planners but I am not sure I can stick to them now. Rings give you the possibility to change things as you go and as your life changes as well. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Oh yes, me too! I recently started doing it because I realized that the spiral makes me feel somewhat limited after using a binder with rings. I really want to enjoy having spiral bound planners but I am not sure I can stick to them now. Rings give you the possibility to change things as you go and as your life changes as well. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

