Audrey planner · filofax · Filofax Original · Franklin Covey · getting things done · planner addict · planner geek · planning · time management

Flirting with Franklin Covey and learning about its system

So last week I saw in the Franklin Covey Facebook group page, a lady who shared pictures of her new Audrey planner, recently released this Spring by Franklin Covey (FC). Her pictures showed a beautiful, ocean blue, wonderful binder with 1.5″ rings, without a clasp or band around it. It was an open binder, which, because of the size of its rings I guess, doesn’t come with anything to close it. I saw the pictures and I fell in love.

                                 

I attribute my “love at first sight” for this binder to the fact that I have been looking for a binder with big rings where I can put a spiral bound planner, or that I can use to add many, many pages and that I can also take with my occasionally. This will be the second binder that I order from Franklin Covey, the first one was the flourish binder with undated inserts that I bought in January and which I absolutely love because of its quality. I tried to find additional pictures and videos that would help me decide whether I should get an A5 or a personal size of this Audrey binder. I could not choose! Eventually I decided to go for the A5 size or classic, in Franklin Covey’s language. Because this size would allow me to add my Erin Condren planner to use as a work log or to use it as a work binder where I can store everything work related (since my personal size work planner sometimes is too small to add all the information I need to have) to avoid carrying my planner and additional notes or notebooks that don’t fit in my personal size planner.

As I started looking for more information on this particular binder and I started thinking of how I would be using it, I started browsing the Franklin Covey website and I saw that they sell different kinds of inserts. I am new to these inserts but the more I learned about them, the more I started to think that maybe, just maybe, the Franklin Covey system could work for me. Franklin Covey has actually published various books on time management, habits management and other things. It turns out that they actually have their own system and this is why their inserts have been created that way.

I have not had the time to dig into this more but it turns out that they sell monthly inserts with an index that will allow you to note down a list of contents for each month, so that you can quickly refer to in case you need to find something at a different point in time. Also they have inserts with a day on two pages, a weekly spread and a day on one page. The last time I used a day on one page was in college and the reason why I stopped using this format was because I could not have an overview at a glance of my entire week. Because I could not see my whole week at a glance, I would end up forgetting things or missing things. When I changed to one week on two pages it allowed me to be much more effective in managing my time and remembering things.

As I keep looking more and more into the inserts designed by FC, I start playing with the idea that maybe, at this particular point in time, it’d be a good idea to consider having the day on two pages inserts, just because I find myself running out of space with my personal Filofax original. Also, the day on two pages has an area where you can have your day divided into hours, then you have an area where you can categorize your priorities, an area where you can keep track of different things, and a whole page where you can write additional notes on anything you want. You have PLENTY of room for everything and you are not constrained to having only a time management log, or a priorities log or a whole empty page for a whole day. It is like having all of the Filofax formats in one!

                                   

While I love the idea of having much more room for different categories during each of my days, I still face the recurrent problem of not having an overview of my entire week! As much as I would love to love these inserts, I keep thinking what can I do to have everything at once? An overview of my month, an overview of my whole week either on one page or two pages and still have a day on two pages. I don’t think there’s a binder that would take ALL of these pages!

So my question remains: How can I make this work without having to add tons of pages to my binder?

I have not been able to find the answer to my question or even learn more about the FC system and how to use it EXACTLY. If you have more ideas, information or suggestions about how you deal with these inserts while still having a visual overview of your entire week, please leave me a comment below! I’d love to hear what you think and get some inspiration from you.

Thanks for reading and visiting my blog!

Em Jorden

15 thoughts on “Flirting with Franklin Covey and learning about its system

  1. Maybe you could have a vertical week on two pages with days divided into hours, and add a flyleaf with the extra boxes you need, that you can remove easily and change each day. So that you have ever the week at a glance.

    Like

  2. Hello Em, I also really like to be able to see my week. I use a FC Compact and print my Wo2P by Becky of Planner Fun, who has both vertical and horizontal layouts. Then the day pages can be slotted in between the week pages. Since I really don't need dailies very often, I just add a lined Personal size page that is “bordered” by the week. Hope I've at least given you an idea to consider on your journey. Good luck.

    Like

  3. Hi EM, as I read your story, it reminded me of mine… exactly. I returned to planning 1 year ago, and had a very short fling with a Filofax original, but it was too small and I didn't care for the inserts. After many you tube videos and blogs, I decided on a VDS touch me with the FC compact do2p. I thought it was perfect, but missed the weekly layout. For the last year, I've contemplated ditching the whole system and going Midori style planning, Hobonichi style planning, bullet journaling, designing my own, etcetera…. I disciplined myself into abandoning all thoughts of spending my hard earned $ on more inserts and planners and just settled on living with what I had until I learned it well. Here is what I learned over the last year about how I use my planner. I only use my planner for 3 things and these 3 things only: 1)calendaring appointments, 2)to do lists, 3)daily journaling. The rest of the spaces on my FC do2p stay blank, just a waste of paper really. So, what I've decided to do(once my current inserts run out in September), is to go FC Weekly inserts (for appointments and to do's). Behind that I will add lined/graph pages on some pretty paper for my daily journaling. No need to run out and reinvent the wheel and spend more $ trying to. I've given it 1 year, and have finally found a system of inserts that work for me. I love my VDS Touch me and I will continue to use it. While those beautiful pictures of the Midori notebooks try to tempt me to drop what I've got going, I won't do it because I know they won't have enough writing space for my daily journal. You will find what you need, just give it time and discipline.

    Like

  4. I used FC planners for years and found the system really helpful at tracking lots of detail and finding balance while achieving goals. I suggest you read Stephen Covey's book “First Thing First” , because it thoroughly explains the philosophy behind the system.

    Like

  5. Thank you Carla. I have been thinking of something like this. I do need the daily pages but I though of maybe inserting a Ween on two pages or one page. In my case I really want to have an overview of my whole week. I didn't know Planner Fun, will look into that, thank you! 🙂

    Like

  6. Hi Le bookwerm! Our stories really are similar because I have been playing also with the idea of getting a midori. I have never used one but there is something about having different notebooks and then changing them as my needs change, but I don't want to spend money on yet another planner. I am curious about it though. I have my filofax in personal size for work and it's been great, it works and it's fine but then I find myself running out of space very often and then I end up writing lots of things in an additional notebook so, while I love the personal size and simplicity I feel it makes more sense to get an A5 size with proper inserts but I am still learning what exactly works for me right now. I am on the road a lot and my organizer is my portable office and personal assistance. Thank you for your comment 🙂

    Like

  7. Ah! I have had other people recommending me this same book, I think I will get it. Thank you and also thanks for letting me know that the system does work for you. I went ahead and bought the inserts yesterday, I put them in my A5 binder and wrote down my first entries, I was amazed at how easy it was to organize everything! I have the feeling this will be for me, although I am still trying to figure out how to have an overview of my entire week but so far so good 🙂 Excited about trying it out this week for the first time ever! Thanks for taking the time to comment. 🙂

    Like

  8. Ah! I have had other people recommending me this same book, I think I will get it. Thank you and also thanks for letting me know that the system does work for you. I went ahead and bought the inserts yesterday, I put them in my A5 binder and wrote down my first entries, I was amazed at how easy it was to organize everything! I have the feeling this will be for me, although I am still trying to figure out how to have an overview of my entire week but so far so good 🙂 Excited about trying it out this week for the first time ever! Thanks for taking the time to comment. 🙂

    Like

  9. I use a FC binder and some inserts. A week overview is critical for me, so I use their Flourish pages and just make a daily page each day. (Only a week's worth of dailies are in my planner at a time.)

    But I use lots of their techniques and much of their system.

    Like

  10. I really like the flourish pages, I happen to also have the flourish planner but I decided to use its inserts next year since they are undated. For work, having the classic size is working great. I also need to have an overview of my week, so I keep on thinking on different solutions, I might end up adding my own printable and see how that works. I just don't want to spend on more inserts LOL
    Thank you for your commet! I love your blog 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

