What to do with the Filofax – or other – inserts when having multiple sets?

The more I immerse myself  “into the planner world”, the more I start learning about the different brands, sizes, models, resources and communities out there, but also, the more I find myself wanting to experiment with some things like inserts for ring binders. For example, I recently switched from my personal size navy original organizer to my pink fluoro and I realized that I didn’t know what to do with the additional set of inserts that the pink organizer came with when I bough it.

I am not even going to tell you how many ring binders I have right now – which are more than a few! – but I can tell you that I have one set of inserts for each binder and at this point I do not know what to do with them! I feel terrible wasting paper and not using it, then again, I should have thought about this before buying multiple binders to begin with. For now I decided to store them until I figure out what to do with these inserts.

The main problem, you see, is that the inserts are dated, except for the inserts that came in my 365 Flourish Franklin Covey compact organizer, and only for this single reason you can’t store the inserts to use them next year. On my desire to want to find some use for the extra sets of organizers, I came up with a few ideas that I think would be good, but I still do not know if I can keep up with them, these are some ideas in case you are interested:

– Cover the printed date on them with washi tape or scrapbook paper and use them next year by writing down the date myself – Use the current inserts for journaling or other projects for this year.
– Cover all the dates with some kind of paper and use the inserts as a canvas for lists or project management
– use the inserts for current bills or a calendar for other appointments and family events
–  Use the inserts are they are just to take notes during meetings or general notes
– no idea what else to do!

So, today I really don’t have an answer or a suggestion about what to do with these inserts rather, I have a question for you, what do you do with the inserts when you have multiple sets for one single year? Do you toss them or do you keep then?

I’d love to hear your suggestions, ideas and comments about inserts and what to do with them. Really, many of us only use or need one set of inserts, at least I do, and those inserts are the ones in my personal size original filofax which I keep transferring to other personal size organizers.

Thanks for reading,

Em J

2 thoughts on “What to do with the Filofax – or other – inserts when having multiple sets?”

  1. I had the same issue and then as I was reading your post I thought of something I might use my extra inserts for! I might try to put them into my art journal like ripped up for some sort of texture and just paint over them or something. Besides that idea I’m with you as for not knowing what to do with them. Mine are currently hiding out in a drawer of my desk…

    Like

    1. Ah! I love your idea! If you think of any other idea, do let me know. I am thinking that maybe it’s a matter of disregarding the dates and just using them for whatever we feel like. Let me know what else you come up with. Would love to hear.

      Like

Leave a Reply

