Ogami: The notebook made from stone

Yesterday, after much resistance from my part to visit the local stationary store in Harvard square, which sells one of the best stationery supplies in the state, I decided to go to buy “just a notebook” (ahem, ahem, which obviously didn’t happen as planned) I discovered these notebooks from an Italian brand called Ogami. I remember seeing them maybe somewhere on Instagram and became very curious because the description read “the first notebook made from stone”. What stationery addict enthusiast would not be curious about this? I initially wanted to buy a larger size, probably an A5 size but because

I already had with me a few things, I decided just to try it out – because I could not resist – and buy a smaller size, like a field notes size for my midori traveler’s notebook. I am sure I will find a purpose for it.

The description of these notebooks says:

” Notebook with uncoated 300 gr. paper cover , internal REPAP® paper 120 micron, handmade Point Singer binding, inside pocket and a leaflet explaining OGAMI® and REPAP® paper characteristics.”   – extracted from the ogami website. 

What made me most curious about these was not how delicious and “creamy” the paper felt but the fact that the paper is made from stone. The label on the notebook says “Ogami paper is made up of 80% calcium carbonate and 20% non-toxic resins- The calcium comes from limestone recovered from quarries and from building industry waster. Mixed up with resins it makes repap, a resistance, durable, waterproof paper as well as soft, smoothe and recyclable”. To the touch, the paper feels smooth, resistant and “creamy” – if such an adjective applies to paper. This paper is sustainable because it doesn’t come from trees and it is produced with a process that produces less CO2 which is causing a lot of environmental problems.
 
Aside the fact that this paper to me seems to be a great option, to reduce the destruction of our forests, it takes any pen so well. It is smooth, thick and the notebooks come in different sizes for different uses.For now I will use this as an insert for my midori traveler’s notebook, and I can’t wait to use it.
 
 

Leave a Reply

