The route for stationery lovers in Boston, MA (USA)

Whenever I see the pictures of stationery shops in Tokyo I drool over how amazing those places look like. Basically, the epitome of paradise for any stationery enthusiast!

This said, I started to wonder if there were any stationery shops in Boston, where I live, and whether those places had anything to offer. Off I went, in search of similar or at least, existing stationery shops in Boston where I could spend some time looking at pens and notebooks and guess what? I actually found them! Now I feel proud to say that Boston has some beautiful stationery shops where you can buy all kinds of products usually found online, at really good prices, so this post will be a virtual tour through the stationery shops that you can find in Boston. If you are ever here, don’t forget to visit them, you will be pleasantly surprised.

1. Bob Slate Stationer – This is an amazing store located in Harvard Square in Cambridge. It looks small from the outside but they have an amazing collection of notebooks, planners – including several binders, mostly the original model – paper, pens of all kinds, sketch books, stationery, personalized stationery, invitations, cards, inks and all kinds of notebooks, pencil cases and a few accessories like pen holders. Here you will find Ogami notebooks (the ones made from stone), clairfontaine, rhodia, leuchtturm 1917, moleskine, Quo vadis, Filofax, and the list goes on and on. If you are ever around Cambridge, this place is a must see. The store has been around since 1930! Customer service is great, and here you experience some old fashion stationery advice. The address is: 30 Brattle St, Cambridge Massachusetts.

2. Black Ink – Also in Harvard Square, this store is one of my favorite because of the wide variety of stationery products that they carry. They sell paper, notebooks, pens and stickers a lot of products are japanese which makes it very unique. Usually, I go here to find unique paper clips, paper, japanese notebooks, and Japanese stickers as well. The store doesn’t focus on stationery things but mugs and some other fun products. The service is not the best and they don’t give personal attention but if you can deal with that, you will enjoy the shop. Also, the shop keepers are young and my impression is that they have no clue about stationery. When I go there, I go with the idea of looking at any new products that they have and knowing that the shop keepers will be moody and won’t care about whether or not you buy anything there. This is a fun place to see!

flagshipphoto-black-ink-harvard-1Flagshipphoto.com 

3. Papyrus in Harvard square – I know this is a chain but this particular shop, ALSO in Harvard square carries a wide selection of stationery, including some Kate spade products like planners, notebook and their famous paper clips. They also have a few notebooks, stamps and beautiful paper things. This is a beautiful, fun little store that any stationary lover will definitely enjoy.

4. Barnes and Noble at Prudential Center  – The reason why I love this Barnes and Noble is because they have an amazing selection of notebooks, journals and office articles like pencil cases, pouches and pens. You can easily spend a couple of hours looking for a nice notebook, here you will find the famous Miquel Ruis fauxbonichi.

5. The Coop at Harvard Square – This is mostly a bookstore – and definitely a paradise for book enthusiasts – where you will also find some stationery products, they carry tons of moleskine notebooks, planners, pens, coloring books, notepads and notebooks. The nice thing about this place is that you will find some moleskines that are only sold online otherwise. This is a fun book store with 4 floors to wonder around and spend a Saturday morning.

coop2_0

harvardsquare.com

6. The harvard book store – This store is also one of my favorite for completely different reasons than the others. Here, not only will you find tons of books on different topics but also, tons of fun and unique sticky notes. They also sells some book markers and they have a small array of stationery products, some notebooks and also some moleskine notebooks. Definitely this is my “go to place” when I am looking for cool sticky notes or fun pens. The service is great and when you are buying books, they shop keepers who are sometimes local students will help you with recommendations and suggestions. This a great little corner also in Cambridge.

7. Porter square books – This is a smaller shop, none the less, just as fun or even more than the above. This shop sells a great variety of journals and notebooks, as well as some desk accessories and pencil cases. This shop is on the expensive side, I am not sure why but it is a cool place to go if you are looking for a cool notebook. I have to say that, usually, I would visit first any of the ones above and would eventually end up at Porter square books, just because it is a little expensive to go there and it is likely that you will only find a limited number of products, either notebooks, pencil cases or something else but not in great numbers. The service is great as well and the shop keepers are very helpful as well. This store is located in Cambridge, but the other side of Cambridge at Porter square.

8. Tokai Japanese Gifts  – This store is one of the most beautiful places around the neighborhood. They specialize in Japanese objects and stationery, yes, they do! Although the shop is a little small, and they don’t carry tons of stationery products, you still find a great selection of notebooks, pens – frixion pens and jet pens – japanese stickers, paper for notes, cards and markers. All from Japan and all in that style of stationery. It is a little expensive as well but it is worth it because, as you well know, you don’t find many Japanese stationery stores around small cities. I love this shop and usually go there when I am looking for something in particular, something Japanese or something that I know I can find there instead of buying online. The shop is located at Porter square.

tokai

9. Bromfield Pen Shop – This is a little beautiful shop located at the heart of Boston where you will find an array and amazing selection of pens. From the cheapest to the $2,000 expensive one. I love this shop because this is Boston’s oldest pen shop where you will also find a small section of Filofax binders, inserts, a few other planners, notebooks like Rhodia and moleskine, and tons of affordable pens, color pencils and fountain pens. Here you will also find filofax binders that you rarely find these days at shops, like Maldens, dominos and originals. This is another must see place if you are in Boston downtown. Service is great although Bostonian style, which means, they won’t really smile at you but they are friendly people once you start asking questions and show interest in their products.

bromfield-pen-shop.jpg

Here you go, this is Boston for stationery crazies – like myself. I love each and single one of these stores, all of them for different reasons, and if you are ever in Boston, don’t forget to check them out. You can definitely spend a couple of hours of your trip at these places. This is not like Tokio definitely or New York but you will enjoy them, maybe even find a thing or two that you were already looking for.

I decided to write about stationery shops because with the increasing number of local stationery stores closing down – due to the high demand of online shopping – I thought I should let everyone know that these places are still around and we should support our local businesses, especially those that are disappearing.

Let me know what you think about these stores and whether there are any places in your neighborhood that you like visiting.

Thank you for reading!

Em

 

15 thoughts on “The route for stationery lovers in Boston, MA (USA)”

  1. Hi there! I was Googling “Hobonichi + Boston” and came across your blog! Just thought I’d add that Brookline Booksmith is also a wonderful place for notebooks. I visit them at the end of the year to get planners and the selection is pretty big. Plenty of Moleskine, Leuchtturm1917 as well as others. Not exactly in Boston but accessible by the T and all, so it’s very convenient for any stationery lover when visiting the city. 🙂 There’s also Blick Art in the Fenway/Kenmore area. They have a decent selection of stationery usually at the front of the store and near the canvases. Cute stickers, post-its and of course there’s a lot of pens. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi there! I was Googling “Hobonichi + Boston” and came across your blog! Just thought I’d add that Brookline Booksmith is also a wonderful place for notebooks. I visit them at the end of the year to get planners and the selection is pretty big. Plenty of Moleskine, Leuchtturm1917 as well as others. Not exactly in Boston but accessible by the T and all, so it’s very convenient for any stationery lover when visiting the city. 🙂 There’s also Blick Art in the Fenway/Kenmore area. They have a decent selection of stationery usually at the front of the store and near the canvases. Cute stickers, post-its and of course there’s a lot of pens. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi! Great to meet you Tammy. Yeah, absolutely Blick art in central square as well, althought i didn’t add it because they focus more on artsy stuff, although you are right, they do have some great stationery things like rhodia notebooks, moleskine and tons of pens. I don’t know the one in Brookline, mostly because I’m never around there. But i should visit it sometime. There are two stores too in somerville like kids pie but i didn’t add it mostly because i think they sell stationery accidentally and not because they focus on that. But thanks! Great suggestions. I will add them when i have a moment and credit you. 🙂
      Do you use a hobonichi? I do, and i love mine, it’s a techo A6. What about you?

      Like

      1. Hello again! Yeah, the Blick in Central Square has some stationery items but the Fenway location has more, I think. They also sell Kate Spade planner items. I don’t visit Somerville often so I’m not familiar with their shops. 🙂
        My techo is also A6 and I use their weeks too. Love them both!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Em–What a great post. I live in the Boston area, and I love everything and anything to do with stationery, pens, planners. Your post reminded me I haven’t visited Bob Slate in awhile, so it’s time for a return trip. Paper Source on Boylston Street also has a really good selection of papers and some really nice little extras–stickers, stamps and the like. I think there’s a location in Cambridge, too. I enjoyed this post so much that I’m off to subscribe to your blog now :).

    Like

    1. Thanks Cathleen, for the kind comment. I’m glad you enjoyed the post and it’s so nice to hear you live in the Boston area. Oh, i live a bit too close to bob sled, which is not necessarily a good thing. Lol
      Thanks for subscribing and your support. I’m glad you liked the post.

      Like

  4. Now I just need to go to Boston 🙂 Great post! Thank you for putting it together – it is a great way to show support for local businesses and great for any fellow stationery lovers who might be visiting Boston.

    Like

  5. Great list and spot-on tidbits regarding service and selection. I’ve been to a number of these and return when I can, specifically to Bromfield and, if I’m in Harvard Sq, Black Ink and Bob Slate.

    Like

  6. Hi there! I’ve been following your blog for just a few weeks now, and was scrolling through some of the old posts when I found this one. I live in Boston as well, but am fairly new to the area. Can’t wait to check these places out, thank you so much for putting this list together! I’ve found my planner peace with a filofax/kikki k (current Fluro pink A5) and midori combo, but now that I’ll be able to see options like the Hobonichi in person I may be in trouble…

    Like

    1. Hi! Oh this is great to hear! I am so glad you enjoyed reading my post. I loved writing this post because it was fun to put together the list and think of the things I love the most about these places. Welcome to Boston! I feel like some of us should organize a “Stationery tour” throughout the metro area. I think it’d be fun! So nice to hear that you are settled on a Filofax/Kikki. I am actually also using the pink fluoro for something I am planning right now. I mostly use my Pink Fluoro and my hobonichi techo which I love! I think that is my planner peace. Oh! and I have been using for the first time this year the passion planner which has been amazing for me. Maybe I will talk about these in future posts. Great meeting you! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

