agenda · agenda decorada · agendas · Boston · dashboards · decora tu agenda · decorating · discbound Martha Stewart · Discbound notebook · Discbound planner · dividers · DIY. · Erin Condren · fabulous · Filofax Domino · Filofax Flyleaf · Filofax inserts · Filofax Original · Franklin Covey · GDT · journalcards · journaling · papermate · planner love · planner nerd · planner obsessed · Planner Theorist · planners · planning · planning community · post-its · stationery · stationery addict · Stationery shops · strange and charmed · system · your system

Living a happier life: Discbound notebook

It is well known that there are many benefits to writing things down, be it your thoughts, your feelings or your errands. Writing things down helps you organize your thoughts, reflect and put things in perspective.

Today, we all are bombarded with information and we are constantly plugged to our electronic devices, often we don’t really take a moment to sit down and reflect on what we are doing with our lives or even what we are experiencing or feeling. Especially when we face challenges or difficulties with our lives.

For me, life is particularly hectic, busy and sometimes crazy. I do community work as a profession, I am involved in social justice things and my partner is also involved in this kind of work. Since I became a mom I felt the need to have a creative outlet since I have always leaned toward doing some kind of crafts, planning and writing. I can’t draw or paint but I have always been a planner and have always used pen and paper to write my thoughts, since I can remember. I have always had notebooks and have been constantly obsessed with managing my time, creating my own day layouts and also plan.

Lately I thought, I have been using my planners to manage my time, organize my and my family’s life and just to strive and try my best to be an organized working mom but I have not been writing as much. I do have a journal and sometimes I use it as a scrapbooking thing, but I felt that I didn’t get myself to sit down and use it. It has been more of a task that I force myself to do mostly because I don’t want to waste the notebook.

I recently wated Alexis Giostra where she talked about one of her notebooks that is actually a disc-bound notebook. She showed it a long time ago and I went to look for it but this particular line wasn’t produced anymore. Recently, I heard that Martha Stewart had come out again with her disc bound system that is sold at staples and decided to see if was available at my local staples. Well, guess what? I found it! I bought it not really knowing what I would do with it but when I came home I decided that I didn’t want to use it as another planner so I turned it into a notebook. I call it my “freedom notebook”.

The freedom notebook is a compilation of several sections that I customized, decorated a little bit and added to the notebook after buying some extra paper and some divider tabs. All of these things are from Martha Stewart just because I thought it looks nice and it is very inexpensive. This notebook has the following sections:

  1. Dreams – To jot down thoughts on a life that I desire to create
  2. Stories – Because once upon a time I wanted to be a writer
  3. Prayers – Because I want to go back to my buddhist studies and want to keep things that are relevant or important to me in here
  4. Travel – Because I want to stay inspired to continue traveling and seek for new places to go with my family
  5. Wisdom – Just to write down thoughts and conclusion on my own findings about the new direction I want to take with my professional life

Since I came up with this “freedom notebook” I feel much more inspired and eager to write. It helps me process my thoughts, ideas and also helps me articulate the things that I don’t say to anyone but that are in my head often.

There are many benefits to having a notebook like this. The disc-bound system is particularly great to use because it is the best of both worlds, you have the capacity to customize your notebook like with a ring binder but you also have the capacity to carry it as a notebook, similar to a spiral bound notebook except you are not constrained to using it as is for the whole time. You can add pages to it, inserts, cards, notes and so on. I love it and I recommend you creating your own notebook so you can have a more fulfilling and reflective life where you will find and create your own happiness.

This is how my “Freedom notebook” looks like:

img_20160409_101746.jpg

img_20160408_210211.jpg

img_20160409_100435.jpg

 

Let me know if you have a similar notebook like this and how you use it. Also, I have a traveler’s notebook that I bought with the idea of using it similarly but for some reason it is not working for me, so I carry my traveler’s notebook for planning and projects and other things.

I am surprised and amazed of how much I actually love this system! I am even thinking that it can totally work as a future planner or bullet journal but we shall see about that, for now, I am super happy with this notebook and it has added value to my life! I feel more inspired and eager to sit down and write. It definitely is doing the trick for me!

Thanks for reading planner friends,

Em

Leave a Reply

