Maximize your time, use it wisely

It is no secret that I use several planners at the same time. Why you may ask!? For me, it works! Using several planners allows me to sort of “divide” my life into the different realms that I need to differentiate to be most effective. I am a working mom that also handles a lot of things at home, for instance, our bills, financial matters, shopping lists, doctors/vets appointments and so on. Having one single planner for everything just doesn’t do the trick, hence, the various planners that I have.

One of these planners is my passion planner, which is a simple but very effective bound planner that I use for all things related to my family, my personal time management and it helps me have an overview of how we spend our time, our days and what needs to get done. Th reason why I love my passion planner is because not only does it help you have a road map if you entire year but also, by organizing each day and having a visual overview of how you spend each day, you are able to manage your time better. The layout of this planner is simple, and it also has space for being creative and decorate it if you want to. Each day in this planner is divided into time slots, with room for goals, focus, personal lists, work lists, and a reflection are of positive things that happened in the past.

When I started using this planner I realized how helpful it was because it actually lets you see what you do with your days. By coloring or marking your tasks and placing them where they belong – assigned to a particular time during your day – you are able to see, for example that from 1 PM to 3 PM you spent your time cleaning – or doing nothing – or that between 8am and 6pm all you did was just work and in between you squeeze in some time to read. Or actually, see when you can squeeze in some time to read when you are at the office.

This planner gives you space to see what tasks you need to do for work and for your personal life, for me, even though I use one planner for work – my hobonichi techo – and one planner for all things home and persona, it still helps me see what’s what I need to do that week specifically for work (whether it will be a regular work week or whether I need to go somewhere other than the office).

By having a visual division of your days you can easily see where your time goes, whether you spent too much time watching TV or where you actually should have been at the gym instead of laying on the couch.

Obviously, you don’t have to use a Passion planner but I am using this example to illustrate how, by using your planner, you can have a better idea of how you spend your days and actually your life and whether you need to adjust that if you are working toward a goal. Also, there are various tools that can help you visualize what you do with your time, one of these ways is using a spiraldez or chronodex insert.

The chronodex y a great tool designed by Patrick Ng and adjusted by Kent from Oz  this great tool will also help you see how you manage your time, what you do during the day what you need to adjust if you want to become more productive and achieve those goals that have been on your planner. The chronodex y actually very easy to use once you get the hand of it and here Patrick Ng explains all about it. You can also look for videos on You Tube where various amazing planner ladies-men teach you how to best use this great tool.

Here you have it, a few thoughts on how to use visual tools and planner layouts to best know how you spend your time and make adjustments so you can be your most productive self.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments box if you have ever used any of these tools or also let me know what tools you use to be productive and get things done.

Have a great week!

Em Jorden

img_20160311_143826.jpg

Leave a Reply

