New blog section: Writers of their own stories.

Dreamers, but does too. “I am a dreamer but not the only one” the song says. With this in mind, I decided to open a new section where I will feature creative minds and thinkers from around the world. People who have touched my soul and/or who have crossed my path –at least through the Internet– in one way or the other. Each one of this individuals have inspired me.

With this new section, I want to pay homage to all of those amazing people, creative wanderers who have followed their hearts, written their own stories and said “F**ck it, I won’t do what you all expect me to do. I will follow my dreams, do, create and carve my own path. Yes, I will.”

This creative group of people has given me back the drive to pursue my own story, my own dreams and work hard, especially work hard! I will be featuring people from around the globe who use journals, planners, diaries, and really, who use a pen and a piece of paper to create, to let their minds and souls free and touch our spirits along the way. The men and women that you will read about here, all of them carry a journal, a planner or a diary in some shape or form, some of them even have YouTube channels, shops, and stationery physical stores. They are creators and inspire all us to do the same. I will feature their personal stories with the idea that they will encourage you to continue creating, and pursuing what really, REALLY makes you happy.

I really hope you will love it as much as I did writing about them. If you have a suggestion about who to reach out to, do let me know. Enjoy, and keep on moving forward! The world needs more of that, especially right now.

Dreamers but DO-ers
Kayla Ocampo – Creator of

rainbowholiclogo 

Kaila is known all over the Internet for her Kawaii-life style. She creates videos on her journaling, she has a shop and is a creator. Kaila has inspired me to journal more, and basically follow my own style of doing things. Kaila has been very kind in responding to every question of my interview so please, go check her story out.

Kaila’s header is “Rainbowholic is a real-life manifestation of dreamy aspirations of a Kawaii Girl who wishes to share positivity & happiness through her lifestyle blog.”

Here’s the interview I made to her. Sit back and enjoy!

1. Who are you? What is your name, where are you from and where do you live?
Hi, I’m Kaila! I’m currently based in Saitama, Japan but I’m originally from Manila, Philippines. I’m a kawaii lifestyle blogger, content creator, and entrepreneur.
2. What notebooks do you currently use, what for and why these particular notebooks?
I have a lot of notebooks with me right now and they all have different purposes. I have my own schedule organizer (from Paper Stone PH) where I plot important dates and such. I use my hobonichi techo (A6) as my daily kawaii journal / diary.I recently got my own Midori Traveler’s notebook and I’m currently using it for train stamp / stamp collecting and travel documentations. I also have my own #ABCDailyJournal by my friend Abbey Sy. It’s my creative / “art” journal.
abcdailyjournal-spread
the.rainbowholic.me Blog
kawaii-journaling-kaila-ocampo-rainbowholic-1
the.rainbowholic.me Blog
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
the.rainbowholic.me Blog
3. Why do you journal?
I journal to unwind and dream at the same time. I’m a big dreamer and I strongly believe that journaling / listing down your dreams and actions plans are important to keep track of your progress to realize your goals. I journal because I want to surprise myself in the future that even with all the good and bad days combined from the past months / years, I still chose to enjoy and celebrate the big and little things in my life during those documented times.Read Why I Journal / Kawaii Journaling to know more about why Kayla decided to start journaling.
4. Why did you decide to open your website, your shop and your YouTube channel?
I (re)opened my blog when I finally moved to Japan 5 years ago. I just wanted to share my daily life, the kawaii culture that I like, solo travels and other creative adventures. I also had another blog prior to this one. ^^

I’m continuing my blog because it has a purpose. I want to somehow enlighten others on how they can also achieve their dreams by working hard and creating your own luck. I’m aiming for this blog to become a source of motivation for others (the target market person is similar to a younger version of Kaila who used to feel disheartened about many things). I decided to open my shop because I also want to share the materials / things that I’m using for my crafts. I also aspire to create and manage my own business full-time in the Philippines someday.. and that’s why I’m starting with an online store for now. I really have big dreams for my Rainbowholic business. ^^I’ve been on YouTube for many years (hardly updated haha) but it’s only been just a few months ago when I really devoted time to document my hobonichi sessions. I really enjoy creating and learning at the same time. I never actually thought that people would watch my videos but after receiving positive feedback so far.. I got more inspired to create more.

To learn more about why Kayla blogs go  to Why I Blog and go to How Blogging Has Helped Me Achieve My Dreams to learn more about Kayla’s journey.

hobonichi-is-life
the.rainbowholic.me
instax-kawaii-cheki-polaroid-fujifilm
the.rainbowholic.me
5. What drives you to continue working on your channel and your website?
I just really want to fill up my days working on something that I’m passionate about (crafting / journaling / documenting / etc.). Whether people would appreciate it or not (thumbs up or down), it does not matter to me because I’m already happy with the fact that I’ve done something that might help me in the future. For me, this is my way of practicing self-discipline too. ^^Of course, whenever I get positive and encouraging comments, I’d feel more motivated. I also consider my subscribers’ suggestions on how I can improve my content and such.


6. What is your dream and what would you say to people who are working to achieve their own dreams?
I have a lot of dreams but my ultimate dream would be to become a full-time content creator + businesswoman combined. Right now, I am still employed at my brother’s company here in Japan (still very thankful, of course). In the future, I want to build my own company both based in Japan and the Philippines. These two countries are both my homes and I’d like to fly back and forth (more freely) in the future.

To people like me who are also working to achieve their own dreams, let’s do our best effort (come what may)!! We may get discouraged or feel a little lost along the way (important life knowledge / experience masked as failures) but with eyes on the goal and a brave heart, anything is possible! Believe in the great things that we all know that we deserve. ^^

See this Related video for more of Kayla and his Rainbowholic dream

7. What are your favorite stationery shops?
My favorite stationery shops are LoFT and Tokyu Hands.8. Who are your favorite journalers, entrepreneurs or people that you look up to?

I look up to Abbey (www.abbey-sy.com), Chichi (www.hello.chi-chi.me), Ashley (www.ashleydy.com), Reese (www.reeselansangan.com), and Allie (www.thefoureyedwonder.com). They are all amazing and super creative people and I’m proud to call them as my friends. They are just some of the many people who I look up to.
^^

9. How did you learn to journal the way you do, and what keeps you inspired?
I learned how to journal the way I do by doing it every day and sticking with the habit. I love expressing myself, my thoughts, my beliefs, and everything through a cute / kawaii way. I keep myself inspired by staying offline, reading creative books and blogs, looking through many photos, going out & taking a walk, exercising, traveling, and the like.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
http://the.rainbowholic.me/
tobichi-hobonichi-lineup-preview-2017
http://the.rainbowholic.me/
tambara-lavender-park-2
http://the.rainbowholic.me/

10. Tell us about 2017, what are the next steps and how do your journals help you get there?
I think that 2017 will be still a continuation of everything that I started and launched this year (2016). I just want to continue and experiment with my blog, shop, and youtube channel. Definitely, my journals will help me a LOT to keep track of my progress and they will always serve as a reminder for me to stay grounded and to remember my roots and humble beginnings. My dreams may become bigger and bigger as I grow older and unlock goals but my child-at-heart nature and love for kawaii & stationery will forever stay.

Edited by author Sept, 2017: For 2018 Kayla has featured a video on her YouTube channel where she shares with us her new cover for the coming year (The hydrangea cover) in a new unboxing video. Go check it out! She has also started doing stationery tours in Japan which I plan on doing one day when I save enough for only a trip to Japan. If you are interested in her blog, below are her links. It is a true joy to watch her working on her hobonichi, read her blog and follow her on social media as she comes up with new fun hobonichi and stationery related projects.

Did you like learning about Kyla and her #Rainbowholic dream, find her on the following social media channels:

Instagram: @rainbowholic
Snapchat: rainbowholic.me

Twitter: @kailaroo

 

Want to get to know Kayla, go to Getting to know me and learn more. Of course, follow her and share it!

Thanks for reading Kayla’s story on my blog,

 photo 61a838a6-174c-4f67-85e8-ee335f35254f_zpsnpfw04w5.jpg

dsc_48701
Kayla Ocampo, Rainbowholic – Kawaii lifestyle blogger and creator – writer of her own story!

Thank you, Kayla, for inspiring us all!

Copy Right: All images here used were authorized by Kayla Ocampo and taken from the.rainbowholic.me. All rights reserved. 

Leave a Reply

