Boston stationery shops · Chicago Stationery · decora tu agenda · decorating · discbound Martha Stewart · Discbound planner · dividers · DIY. · Hobonichi en español · Hobonichi Russia · Hobonichi Techo · Hobonichi techo · pens · planning community · stationery · stationery addict · Stationery shops · world stationery day

Best pens to use on your Hobonichi

Choosing a pen for your Hobonichi Techo books 

Often, I see this question being asked by (new) Hobonichi users “What pens are best for the Hobonichi Techo?”. This is a bit of a relative question where the answers can vary a lot. There’s a myriad of pens and also a myriad of answers. Choosing a pen is a personal choice and choosing one for a particular type of paper depends on so many factors, for example:

  • Paper thickness
  • Width of the pen that you like
  • the boldness of the pen
  • Colors
  • Ink type
  • Fountain, roller ball or felt tip
  • and so on…

Personally, I like pens that are smooth, that are on the thin side and that have super dark ink, usually black. My favorite brands are Pilot, Papermate gel joy, Faber Castell and Staedlers triplus fine liners. I do love some fountain pains but my collection is not huge so I wouldn’t dare to recommend one for you because I am still learning about these. I do have a couple of Lammy pens and Faber Castell but I don’t know yet what I love — fountain pen wise.

Because the Hobonichi Techo is made out of Tomoe River paper which is a very special kind of paper — and the main reason why many of us love the Hobonichi books — Not all pens write the same and not all pens will offer the same experience. Personally, I have also used normal rollerball pens and I find that the glide. It is hard to get traction with them, and also because the paper is a grid kind, you can’t really write smaller with these pens.

I think I have tried all kinds of pens on my Hobonichis, from the cheapest to the fancy Lammy fountain pens and Faber Castell. I find that the ink needs to be on the liquid side, but not too much like the jelly rolls, otherwise it will smudge. From my experience the best pens to use on a Hobonichi techo are these and I hope you will find it useful, at least until you find THE pen that you love to use.

  • Faber Castell basic black rollerball pen
  • Staedlers triplus fine liners
  • Pilot pens, usually the most basic ones are amazing
  • Ink joy gel pens in 0.3 by paper mate
  • Paper mate flairs – although if your handwriting is large, you’ll end up using a lot of space on your notenook with these pens
  • Jetstream uniball in 0.5
  • Lamy safari

148869_0_PM99.jpg

6188KzlwuYL._SL1500_.jpg3bd29d82-cbbd-4553-a2dc-f99d63f4716c_1.2966b75dce0c54feefcaa2e9a13515bc.jpeg

Thanks for reading, let me know which pens are you favorite.

E. J.

 photo 61a838a6-174c-4f67-85e8-ee335f35254f_zpsnpfw04w5.jpg

Leave a Reply

