Planners that worked for me in 2016

Happy Sunday! I have seen a few fellow bloggers and instagramers who have been talking about the planners that worked for them this year, and I thought it would be a great idea to write one of these posts myself. This year, my “Planner journey” has been rather interesting and I want to share it with you.

Let’s begin, shall we?

This year the planner that really worked for me was mostly my Hobonichi Techo in A6, I call this, “the planner that could” because it helped me survived changes at work, a very crazy schedule, organizing my life at home and for my son, dealing with day care schedules, tasks, bills, meals and everything in between. The reasons why this planner worked for me are:

  • This Hobonichi Techo in A6 is portable and the size is great for someone with a busy life
  • The layout – a day on one page seems to be perfect for me because I usually have a lot of things to write down.
  • The monthly and daily pages are great although I have to stay that I stopped using my planner for about two months because I really need to have a weekly view.

Pink Fluoro Filofax in A5
Another planner that worked for me was a customized version of my  which I use as my financial planner and I love! I believe the reason why this planner works so well for me is because, actually, this is a planner that I assembled myself using various kinds of inserts and I love it.

Martha Stewart discbound notebook
This notebook worked wonders for me. I customized it and use as a notebook where I write various things. I have both, the large and the smaller version and both are wonderful notebooks. Not only because of the possibilities to customize it but because the quality of the notebook is amazing and you can add as many or as little page as you wish. Also, you can change the size of the disks and that I think, is a huge advantage!

Filofax original in Navy – personal size
I used this planner for various things, it served as a planner where I would collect thoughts, ideas, lists and other content related to my blog. I love the size, the quality and the portability of this binder. It is amazing and one of my all time favorite planners.

Now let’s move on to the planners that DID NOT work for me — based on my lifestyle, preferences, planning style, and needs.

  • Day designer day on one page – This planner is beautiful and I was excited when it came out around July this year. This particular planner was created after a collaboration between Day Designer and Sky Blue. The books are inexpensive, come in various sizes and also in different designs. I loved the idea of carrying this planner because of the format but after using it for a month I realized that it wasn’t going to work for me. I feel very limited because of the pre-set format it comes in and overall, it just didn’t call on me so  I stopped using it as a daily planner and moved it on to using it as a workout planner where I just track my workouts, calories, and other health related matters.
  • Erin Condren Life Planner — I have written about this planner before. Not only because I find them extremely expensive for what they are, but because for me, I just think that the price is not worth it. There are many other planners are out there that are better quality and I personally feel that this line of products is over priced. My story with these planners dates from two years ago when I bought my first EC planner. I ended up selling it because I wasn’t using it. The boxes do not work for me and neither does the format. Then, Erin Condren released a new series of planners with rose gold coil and I fell for it again. I ended up buying at the exorbitant price of $95 usd. After trying so hard to really like the planner I ended up setting it apart and using the pages as a finances planner. The reason why I was so disappointed is because the coil was damaged, the planner would not lay flat, the cover was damaged, and I was just not happy with the product. That’s the last time I bought an Erin Condren Planner and my inserts will end this December.
  • Kikki.K personal size planners — while I love this brand I find that not all the planners work for me. I love the binders because they are beautiful but I ended up not using a few that I bought. I sold them and now I only have a bound planner with a day on one page that I will be using for 2017 as a journal/health diary. I don’t know why the binders don’t really work for me but I am a fan of the brand and I actually have bought a few other things for this year.
  • Franklin Covey compact size synthetic leather — I love Franklin Covey but when their binders are not made out of leather, the plastic smell is too strong for me to bear it. I bought two binders and I ended up selling them. While I love the brand and I have used one of their binders in classic size as a work planner, I am not sure how I feel about other planners so for now, I decided to stop buying ring binders and enjoy using my bound books.

Now, these are the planners that worked and didn’t work for me based on my personal lifestyle, needs and planning style but it doesn’t mean that they won’t work for you. I have tried many many planners and I am slowly learning about what I truly like. It is difficult to not get carried away by the hype of things when they are released so, if you are thinking of buying planners, I would recommend you to read and do some research about them before buying them. Remember that if a planner doesn’t call you, and if you can’t get yourself to use it then it is likely that it won’t work for you. Planners should be something you use every day and something you enjoy using. They are a tool that will help us keep our lives organized and our days flow with ease.

Thank you for reading and please, let me know what planners worked for you this year. I would love to hear.

Thank you for stopping by and reading my blog.

Em J

 photo 61a838a6-174c-4f67-85e8-ee335f35254f_zpsnpfw04w5.jpg

img_20161029_131622

img_20160409_101746.jpg

Leave a Reply

